WHO We Are

Operating under the Epekwitk Assembly of Councils Inc., the Mi’kmaq Confederacy of PEI is a Tribal Council that was first established on April 2nd, 2002. As a non-profit organization, the Mi’kmaq Confederacy of PEI provides technical support, capacity development, programming, and advisory services to its member First Nations – Abegweit First Nation and Lennox Island First Nation.

Vision

Supporting an empowered Mi’kmaq and Indigenous community in the journey toward self-determination.

Mission

We respond and collaborate to evolve with community needs through advisory services and shared programs.

COMMUNITY

Listen, respond, and adapt to diverse community needs. Build community into all that we do and as we work together. Respect each other, community values, and individual needs.

COLLABORATION

Collaborate with the community, individuals and families to best meet their needs. Build trust and work as a team. Be accountable to the community we serve and to each other.

CULTURE

Recognize Mi’kmaq and Indigenous ways of knowing, doing, and being. Acknowledge, respect and incorporate Indigenous knowledge, perspectives, and approaches. Facilitate culturally safe spaces and environments.

Senior Leadership Team

Kateri Coade

Executive Director
kcoade@mcpei.ca

As a proud member of Abegweit First Nation, I’m honoured to serve as the Executive Director of the Mi’kmaq Confederacy of PEI. Being a part of an organization dedicated to creating positive change for Mi’kmaq and Indigenous people living in Epekwitk, brings me a great sense of pride.

At the heart of our non-profit organization lies a commitment to supporting an empowered Mi’kmaq and Indigenous community in the journey towards self-determination. Our mission is to respond and collaborate to evolve with community needs through advisory services and shared programs.

As Executive Director, I look forward to building strong relationships and advancing the important work of the Mi’kmaq Confederacy of PEI with direction from the Epekwitk Assembly of Councils, and support of Abegweit and Lennox Island First Nations and staff.

I invite you to join our commitment to fostering a strong, vibrant, and self-determined Mi’kmaq and Indigenous community. Together, we can discover the path ahead.

Valerie Lange

Executive Assistant
vlange@mcpei.ca

Sean Craig

Senior Operations Officer
scraig@mcpei.ca

Kevin Barnes

Senior Director of Finance and Corporate Services
kbarnes@mcpei.ca

Lexi Drummond

Communications Officer
ldrummond@mcpei.ca

Chelsey Andrews

Human Resources Advisor
candrews@mcpei.ca

Lynn Anne Hogan

Aboriginal Sport Circle Senior Program Coordinator
lahogan@mcpei.ca

Allan Gillis

Education Senior Policy Coordinator
agillis@mcpei.ca

Curtis Reilly

Employment Services Senior Program Coordinator
creilly@mcpei.ca

Bethany MacIsaac

Health Senior Program Coordinator
bmacisaac@mcpei.ca

Jennifer McKenney

Indigenous Justice Program Senior Program Coordinator
jmckenney@mcpei.ca

Randy Angus

Integrated Resource Management Senior Policy Coordinator
rangus@mcpei.ca

Candice Huber

PRIDE Senior Program Coordinator
chuber@mcpei.ca